Want to take the next step in your Netball career?

The IAS Netball Program is designed to support the developmental needs of the regions young talented Netball players by providing industry leading high-performance sport development programs. Scholarships are offered for a 12-month period commencing in October and concluding in September at Academy Challenge. However, there is a heavier focus on the program from September through to Academy Games in April. The aim of the program is to provide additional skill development on top of club, representative or school-based training.

Register your interest for 2022/23

The program will provide coaching, training and competition to improve athlete development with a view to:

  • Increase the depth of talent and readiness to progress on the Netball NSW Pathway
  • Increase the level of success of those athletes at competition and events in netball competitions nationwide
  • Be identified, monitored and assessed
  • Develop strong technical skills
  • Develop tactical skills and increased understanding of the game
  • Develop efficient functional movement patterns
  • Develop a strong base of strength and conditioning, with weekly strength and conditioning training to which attendance is expected.
  • Grow in independence, honesty, self -motivation and self-regulation
  • Increase uptake of Emerging Talent behaviours
  • Develop knowledge of rules, accuracy of decisions and communication skills
  • Provide education around athletic development as well as personal development in topics such as Nutrition, Sport Psychology, Media Skills / Public Speaking, Youth Leadership, Drugs in Sport

2020/21 Staff

Ashlee Scofield, Head Coach

Karen Clark, Manager

Fiona Ryan, Assistant Coach

Alex McNeil, Assistant Coach

Matt Scofield, Assistant Coach

Shaye Wilkinson, Assistant Coach

Jodie Correia, Umpire Head Coach

2020/21 Squad

Daniella Avtarovski
Lauren Bancroft
Chelsea Blanch
Genevieve Bosker
Ella Brooks
Ayla Clark
Larissa Clarke
Rhianna Clarke
Hailey Deacon
Savanah Detheridge
Taryn Drewe
Gabby Eaton
Julia Edwards
Imogen Harrison
Emilia Krstevski
Hayley Manning
Emily Manning
Brooke Mayor
Lilly Merrick
Kiana Rieck
Liana Taufa’ao
Isabella Wood
Rhian Yeo
Sienna Yeo

Training Partners

Madison Jones
Sienna Lay
Ruby McCallum
Sari Thompson
Chloe Vickery


Madelyn Black
Poppy Calder
Hannah Deacon
Molly Farquhar
Sophie Jones
Heidi Walton

Scholarship Components


Skill Development


Strength & Conditioning

Media Skills

Education Sessions


2021/22 Scholarship

Athlete Eligibility

To be eligible for an IAS Netball Scholarship, athletes must:

  • Reside within the Illawarra Region made up of the Kiama, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Wingecarribee or Wollongong local government areas
  • Be a registered member with Netball NSW through a recognised Association within the Illawarra region (Illawarra, Kiama, Shoalhaven, Ulladulla, Southern Highlands)
  • Be available for selection in an association based within the IAS local government area. i.e. make yourself available for association trials and representative programs
  • To be eligible for the 2021/22 scholarship athletes must be turning 15 and 16 years of age in 2022 (born in 2007 or 2006)

Athletes identifying as Indigenous and Torres Strait Islander are eligible to participate in the MCR Indigenous Sports Program (ISP). The ISP provides an opportunity for the IAS to provide mentorship and a dedicated level of focus upon the outcomes and support for Indigenous athletes.

Indigenous Sports Program


2021/22 Netball

Selection Criteria

Satisfy the eligibility criteria and demonstrate the following qualities;

  • Demonstrate potential to compete at Netball NSW U17 Phase Two selection Trials within 12 months
  • Physical abilities and physical skills considered to be essential for eventual success in Netball
  • Display an ability to apply coaching & technical instruction
  • Display attitude, commitment and dedication to improving performance
  • The ability or potential to work as part of a team to achieve excellence

NB: Subjectivity is an unavoidable element of selection to the IAS Netball Squad.


2021/22 Scholarship

Trial Details

Applications Close: 5pm 5 October 2021

Netball Selection Process (updated 1 October 2021)

With the current restrictions we are unable to run the on-court selection trials originally advertised for 8 October and 10 October.

In line with the selection process of other IAS programs this scholarship year, selections to the IAS Netball Squad will occur based upon the information provided by the applicants in the application form and through the selection panel’s knowledge of the athletes presented.

A selection panel made up of IAS Coaches, Netball NSW and IAS Staff will make an initial squad selection based upon information provided in the nomination. This selection will take place between 6-11 October, after applications close at 5pm 5 October 2021.

The IAS recognises that this is not a perfect environment and, there is potential (should a trial option be eligible within COVID restrictions) for an on-court selection trial for those not initially identified.

Applicants who are not selected in this initial round will be provided information as to their status and whether an on-court trial will be provided via direct email after 11 October 2021.


2021/22 Scholarship


The IAS is the only regional Academy to not charge an athlete levy to athletes successful in obtaining a scholarship. However, athletes may be required to contribute to some additional components of the program such as camps and tours.

Athletes will also be required to purchase the IAS Netball squad uniform.

Proudly supported by

netball nsw logo
Illawarra Netball
Kiama Netball
Shoalhaven Netball
Southern Highlands Netball