BluescopeWIN Future Stars

BluescopeWIN Future Stars

Want to take the next step in your sporting career?

The IAS BluescopeWIN Future Stars Program (formerly Lonestar) is designed to support the developmental needs of the regions young talented athletes by providing industry leading emerging talent pathway programs.
The BluescopeWIN Future Stars Program is for athletes who compete in the various sports, individual or team, that the IAS currently do not provide specific program for or for athlete who fall outside the sports specific eligibility. Scholarships are offered for a 12-month period commencing in October and concluding in September.

Register your interest for 2024/25

The program will provide coaching, training and competition to improve athlete development with a view to:

  • Prepare athletes to a level where their transition to any State or National Team is ‘seamless’ in terms of programs or pathways
  • Increase the level of success of those athletes at competition and events in their chosen sport
  • Provide education around athletic development as well as personal development in topics such as Nutrition, Sport Psychology, Media Skills / Public Speaking, Youth Leadership, Drugs in Sport
  • Provide an introduction and progression into sport specific strength and conditioning
  • The program will conduct weekly strength and conditioning training to which attendance is expected.

2023/24 Squad

Harrison Baxter – Athletics and Cross Country

Mackenzie Best – Soccer

Keira Buckpitt – Surfing

Tyler Byrne – Wakeboarding

Lani Cairncross – Surfing

Celeste Carolan – Athletics and Cross Country

Zoe Carson – Gymnastics

Chase Corbeski – Football

Logan Corbeski – Football

Charlie Crittenden – Sports Climbing

Lucy Darragh – Surfing

Elizabeth Davis – Rugby

Marcelle (Marci) Davis-Cook – Snowboard Cross

Montana Doubell – AFL

Isabella Elsner – Soccer

Charlie Fannin – Water Polo and Rugby

Ivy Foster – Athletics

Sienna Foster – Rugby

Cate Giason – Athletics

Leo Halios-Lewis – Soccer

Sarah Heaton – Snowboarding and Rugby

Niamh Hicks – Rugby

Zachary Hilton – Que Sports

Portia Hingle – Touch Football and Oztag

Alice Hodgson – Surfing

Sophie Howarth – Athletics

Abigail Inman – Soccer

Zac Jordan – Cricket

Denbigh Lewis – Athletics

Samuel Lowe – Surfing

Tully McCarthy – Tennis and Cross Country

Zac McEvoy- Tennis and Athletics

Nicholas McGill – Athletics

Mikayla McLean – Athletics and Cross Country

Ivy Miller – Swimming and Surf Lifesaving

Imogen Moore – Surf Lifesaving and Hockey

Charlotte Neville – Surf Lifesaving and Cross Country

Lilah Norden – Athletics

Cale Parr – Rugby Union and Rugby League

Travis Potter – Futsal and Soccer

Sam Rolfe – Waterpolo

Coco Seddon – Rugby, Oztag and Cross Country

Oliver Sheridan – AFL

Ginger Siasat – Athletics. Rugby and Surf Lifesaving

Cody Sullivan – Athletics and Cross Country

Aimee Turner – Surfing, Swimming and Surf Lifesaving

Zane Ward – AFL, Swimming, Cricket and Oztag

Keegan Whitten – Athletics

Savannah Wiki – Athletics

Jared Wood – Swimming and Waterpolo

Hartley Zietsch – Snowboarding

*Squad is subject to approval from IAS board

Athlete Profiles

Scholarship Components

Lonestar athletes

Skill Development

S&C testing

Strength & Conditioning

Media skills education

Education Sessions


2023/24 Scholarship

Athlete Eligibility

To be eligible for an IAS Scholarship, athletes must:

  • Reside within the Illawarra Region made up of the Kiama, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Wingecarribee or Wollongong local government areas
  • Be a registered member of an association or club within the Illawarra region (if applicable)
  • Be affiliated with the National or State Sporting Organisation (SSO) for the nominated sport
  • Be 13 – 18 years old during the scholarship period (born in 2006-2011)
  • Special consideration may be given to athletes outside the eligible age, subject to the approval of the IAS board.

Athletes identifying as Indigenous and Torres Strait Islander may be eligible to participate in the Indigenous Talent Program (ITP). The ITP provides an opportunity for the IAS to provide mentorship and a dedicated level of focus upon the outcomes and support for Indigenous athletes.

Indigenous Sports Program


2023/24 Scholarship

Selection Criteria

Satisfy the eligibility criteria and demonstrate the following qualities;

  • Physical abilities and physical skills considered to be essential for eventual success in their chosen sport
  • Display an ability to apply coaching & technical instruction
  • Display attitude, commitment and dedication to improving performance
  • Demonstrate potential to be selected for NSW/National representation within 12 months
  • The ability or potential to work as part of a team to achieve excellence

NB: Subjectivity is an unavoidable element of selection to the IAS Future Stars Squad.


2023/24 Scholarship

Selection Details

Applications close: 9am Monday 11 September 2023

Interviews: Mid-late September 2023

Automatic qualification MAY be reached by achieving one or more of the following criteria:

  • Previous selection in IAS Lonestar squad with satisfactory proof of current competition results and training commitments
  • Selection committee recommendation from application
  • Top 5 achievement at a state level individual event
  • National level participation in their chosen sport
  • Previous selection into a State or National team/squad

Those athletes who do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification MAY be offered an interview to discuss their acceptance in the program. We ask that both the athlete and a parent/guardian be present for this interview.


2023/24 Scholarship


IAS athletes are required to purchase the IAS squad uniform, they also are required to contribute to additional components of the programs such as camps.

Proudly supported by