Congratulations to the 2022/23 Ben Mikic Memorial Award Winner, LUCY ALLEN!

Lucy is a dedicated cyclist, excelling on both the track and the road. Her remarkable journey from podium to podium exemplifies her dedication, perseverance, and unwavering commitment to her sport.

On the track, she became the Pursuit National Champion and claimed a silver medal in the Scratch Race at the Australian Championships.

Recently, Lucy added another National title to her resume after taking out the U17 Cyclo-Cross National Championship in Ballarat.

Lucy’s experience and expertise secured her win at the 2023 Your Local Club Academy Games, as well as her wins across six Junior tours in NSW.

Lucy shows great dedication to the IAS, participating in weekly strength & conditioning, training sessions and camps as well as community involvement.

Lucy truly is an inspiration to young females in the sport of Cycling. Her commitment, hard work and dedication to Cycling allows her to serve as an inspiration to aspiring athletes, demonstrating that with dedication and passion, it is possible to reach remarkable heights.

Congratulations Lucy and good luck to Lucy and all our cyclists competing this weekend.

The Ben Mikic Memorial Award, is granted in honour of former IAS Cycling Athlete Ben Mikic – a talented young rider who tragically died in a cycling accident in 2007. The recipient of the Ben Mikic Memorial Award receives a $500 scholarship courtesy of the Ben Mikic Foundation.

Share This Story