Curtis Trkulja

Congratulations to Curtis Trkulja on winning the BEN MIKIC AWARD for 2020-21 Cycling Athlete of the Year.

Curtis Trkulja performed well on both the track and road over the last 12 months, despite COVID-19 restrictions cancelling many events.

Curtis claimed the silver medal in the NSW Individual Pursuit Championships and came third in NSW at the NSW Omnium Championships.

Curtis was selected onto the NSW Track State team due to compete at track Nationals before COVID put a halt to the event.

On the road, Curtis came 1st in NSW in the Goulburn Junior Road Tour Overall General Classification after finishing 1st in the Prologue, 2nd in the Individual Time Trial and 3rd in the Day 2 Road Race. He came 2nd in the Individual Time Trial, 4th in the Road Race and 3rd in the General Classification at the Port Macquarie Junior Tour. In the Junior Tour of Sydney, Curtis placed 3rd in NSW in the General Classification after a 2nd in the Prologue and 4th in the Road Race.

As a senior member of the IAS Cycling Squad, he is an excellent role model and ambassador to the sport.

The runner up of the 2021 Cyclist of the Year was Joshua Ludman who has made rapid developments in road racing from a club racer to gaining a spot on a national road series team, the Rauland NRS Junior Development team.

Congratulations Curtis, Joshua and the 2021 IAS Cycling squad.

The Ben Mikic Memorial Award, is granted in honour of former IAS Cycling Athlete Ben Mikic – a talented young rider who tragically died in a cycling accident in 2007. The recipient of the Ben Mikic Memorial Award receives a $500 scholarship courtesy of the Ben Mikic Foundation.

Share This Story