Sarah Carli with Jared Constrable

The Illawarra Academy of Sport held their Annual Presentation Night on Friday 6 September, welcoming over 330 guests to the Novotel Northbeach Wollongong.

It was the night everyone had been waiting for, a chance for athletes and their families, coaches and support staff, sponsors and other special guests to celebrate the 2018/19 Scholarship Year, reveal the squad Athletes of the Year and the prestigious Tobin Family Award.

A highlight of the night was the evening’s Master of Ceremonies, Jared Constable interviewing Australian 400m hurdler and Tobin Award winner, Sarah Carli. Carli provided an inspirational address to the athletes; drawing on the challenges of being an athlete, finding the right life balance and her road to the upcoming World Athletics Championships in Doha.

The evening celebrated the eleven IAS squads, associating a sponsor to each and an athlete asking them a few brief questions.

Athletes of the year were named for each program, and we would like to congratulate the following award winners from the night.

2018/19 Athletes of the Year:

AFL – Sophie Phillips
AWD Brett Stibners Award – Jarrod Dyer
BASKETBALL – Asha Phillips
CYCLING Ben Mikic Award – Luke Britten
GOLF – Ethan Harvey
GOLF Vic Burrows Award – Andrew Brown
HOCKEY – Imogen Fowles
LONESTAR – Kieran Woolley
NETBALL – Sharnee Behr
RUGBY – Jaydon Viliamu
TRIATHLON – Jacinta Cliff

The culmination of the evening was the presentation of the prestigious Tobin Family Award, recognising the Illawarra Academy of Sport Athlete of the Year. The winner of the Tobin Award is selected from the program Athlete of the Year Award winners, and high performing Lonestar athletes – this year including Omar Matar (AFL), Mia Parker (Water Polo), Caycee Stratten (Snowboarding) and Jacob Roulstone (Motor Cycling). Last year’s Tobin Award winner and 2018/19 Lonestar Athlete of the Year, Kieran Woolley, was not in contention for the Tobin Award due to the stipulation on athletes unable to win the Tobin Award back to back.

Following a stellar season on the court, basketballer star Asha Phillips took out the night’s top honours, winning the Tobin Family Award and $5000 scholarship.


Click here for the full image gallery from the night.

Images courtesy of Josh Brightman Balanced Image Studio

Share This Story