Asquith to ply trade in Wales

IAS Graduate and former Australian Rugby 7’s and Melbourne Rebels Super Rugby Player Paul Asquith has signed with Pro 12 Champions Scarlets, Wales.

The versatile back from the Southern Districts Club and Western Rams NRC franchise will join his new team in the coming weeks in preparation for the upcoming Pro 12 season.

He said: “I believe that their style of play will suit my game and it will be beneficial for me to be able to develop my game alongside experienced players like British and Irish Lion Jonathan Davies and Scott Williams.”

Scarlets general manager of rugby Jon Daniels said: “He is a versatile player who can play right across the backline as well as giving us another kicking option.

“Having experienced the Super Rugby and Australian Sevens environments Paul is keen to challenge himself in the northern hemisphere and we feel his skill set is a great match for our style of play.”


First published on the BBC Sports website on 26 June 2017


Hills to go the distance in London

Madeline Hills is a confirmed addition to Team Australia heading to the IAAF World Championships London 2017. The Rio 2016 Olympian is set to join Eloise Wellings in the women’s 10,000m after a personal best (PB) run of 31:41.10 in the US last month.


IAS Graduates Dominate State Hockey Selection

Hockey NSW have named their 2018 NSW U21’s and Opens NSW State Teams and Illawarra South Coast Hockey Inc. and the Illawarra Academy of Sport are very well represented.

The IAS graduates accounted for no less than sixteen athletes across the NSW U21’s State squads and a further seven in the Opens Australian Hockey League Squads.


2017 Hockey NSW AHL Arrows Squad

1. Maddison SMITH

2. Grace STEWART


2017 Hockey NSW AHL Waratahs Squad

1. Blake GOVERS

2. Kieran GOVERS

3. Jack HAYES

4. Alexander MACKAY

5. Tristan WHITE


2018 Hockey NSW Under 21 Women State Squad

1. Montana MARSH

2. Keeleigh Mccauley

3. Maddison SMITH

4. Riley SMITH

5. Grace STEWART


2018 Hockey NSW Under 21 Men State Squad


2. Tom DOLBY


5. Callum MACKAY

6. Josh MAYO

7. Thomas MIOTTO



10. Kieren RICHARDS

11. Josh STEWART

Share This Story