Ryan Britten and Mick Lowe


The IAS has a history of developing excellent cyclists, with Ryan Britten joining a host of talented athletes to be the sixth cyclist to win the Tobin Family Award. 

For 2020 we welcome DRB Group as the sponsor and supporter of the Tobin Family Award.  ThDRB Group Tobin Family Award recognises the Illawarra Academy of Sport’s Athlete of the Year. 

Ryan Britten has achieved remarkable results over the past 12 months, dominating on both the road and track. During the scholarship period (October 2019 – September 2020) Ryan achieved a rare feat, winning all seven gold medals on offer at the NSW Junior Track Championships.  

IAS Cycling Head Coach, Mick Marshall described Ryan’s achievements at the NSW Track Championships as “some of the best I have witnessed in a junior athlete as this event”.  

During the scholarship Ryan was selected into the NSW Junior Track and Road Team and received a NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) Scholarship. He won gold in the NSW Country Road race and the NSW Criterium Championships, and finished second overall in the U17 Men National Junior Track Series after racing in Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne early in 2020.  

Unfortunately Ryan was unable compete at a National level in 2020, as COVID-19 caused the National Track Championships and many other events to be cancelled or postponed, including events for the 2020 Road season  

Ryan is a determined athlete and has demonstrated a commitment to the pursuit of excellence through hard work. He has improved in all facets of his performance & skills development and appears to be maintaining an upward trajectory within the Cycling Australia development pathway,” Mick Marshall said.   

The DRB Group Tobin Family Award is given to the Academy athlete who, during the course of their scholarship, displays an exceptional level of sports performance, a commendable attitude to competition, persistent dedication to learning and strong community focus. All Academy sports program athletes are eligible for the award.  

2020 is the 19th year the award has been presented with previous winners including Kieran Govers, Sally Fitzgibbons, Ryan Gregson, Emma McKeon and Blake Govers. The recipient of the award receives a trophy and a $5000 scholarship to assist in their continued development within their chosen sport. 

Congratulations Ryan!

Share This Story